How Was Your Average, Perfect Day?

I read a beautiful blog post, shared by my team leader in the work group Whatsapp (how I despise these groups) titled The Perfect Average Day.

Like the English saying, I walked a mile in her shoes.

Or was it her high heels.

It was relatable.

Well written.

I loved it.

But some of my work colleagues didn’t.

Commenting about how she should use the opportunities within her company to better her living conditions.

To better HER perfect, average day.

Another commented about how there’s nothing special about her day since there are others who go through worse.

Another commented on what kind of response did the writer want? Compassion?

In the back of mind I thought, guys…it’s not a competition.

It’s not about compassion.

Why the hostility?

Is it shame, or embarrassment?

Having some parts of your life displayed like that for all to see, maybe making you feel intimidated?

Or was it because it was a woman who wrote that story?

Did she struck a cord maybe?

This was because I believed she wrote that just to share a part of her life with a receptive audience.

Just because she writes and that’s what writers do.

COUMgQmUcAAbjwN

No hidden agendas.

Maybe that’s the writer in me talking.

Maybe they are acting this way because it’s one of those photos that don’t make it to their Instagrams.

Because it has no filter.

Too real.

In the world of the Internet, there is no such thing as over sharing.

So instead of pointing out their insecurities, I decided to blog about it here.

I do my best to avoid an argument.

It’s like what this book I’m re-reading says,

“A man convinced against his will is of the same opinion still.”
How To Make Friends and Influence People. 

I’m sorry.

Please forgive me.

Thank you.

I love you.

~ Musa

PS. By the way here’s the link to the blog I’m talking about http://conversationswithaesha.blogspot.co.za/2017/04/the-perfect-average-day.html?m=0

Leave a Reply

