The Importance of Biting Your Tongue

The fear of loss is greater than the need to gain.
Tony Robbins, author of Awaken the Giant Within

Yesterday I bit my tongue while chewing on an orange.

Ever had such sudden and excruciating pain that you felt like the world has come to an end?

Well that’s what came to mind for me anyways when my teeth dug into the side of my tongue.

It’s been a while since I’ve had some good ones so you could imagine the shock of the pleasure of eating one of my favourite fruits combined with the pain of self mutilation 😥

Thankfully I survived and endless streams of blood didn’t gush out of my wound as I thought it would.

It just had me thinking of how pain can be used to change your emotional and physical state.

And how it can also be used as a motivating factor in your life.

It just echoes what I’ve been reading from Anthony Robbins’ Awaken the Giant Within book of how we are motivated by two emotions: pain or pleasure.

As in the only reason you keep from doing certain things, that might even produce positive results in your life, is because you associate an emotion of pain towards them.

As in you believe you will some how experience pain or some sort of discomfort in you doing it.

And the only reason you keep doing certain things, that might even be giving you negative results in your life, is because you’ve come to associate some sort of pleasure in doing them.

As in you believe that some sort of pleasurable feeling will come from you doing that particular thing.

Anthony’s book is an eye opener for me in a sense that not only can you identify these patterns but you can also change these patterns to suit your needs and specific outcomes.

Because for you to change your results (the effects) you need to first change the source (the cause).

Pain can bring you so much clarity…to a point where you even find yourself blogging about it 🙂

PS. The tongue is healed and ready for some more oranges!! Buhahahahaha!!

Leave a Reply

