How To Kill A Rat


I can only “get up and go to work, get up and go to work, get up and go to work” for only so long.

What I need to be careful of is to avoid resentment.

Resenting the entire process of

  • waking up to my alarm clock,
  • feeling tired in the morning,
  • being broke & working for my debt with almost half my salary going to the government in taxes,
  • traffic,
  • office politics,

and the list goes on adding fuel to my self-created misery, will only lead to them increasing and expanding because all my focus is on them.

This is called the “Rat Race,” getting up going to work so that I can pay my expenses off, with me reasoning that for me to pay them off completely I must either get a second job or a job promotion.

So here I am running faster on this treadmill, getting a promotion and a higher income, that automatically makes me qualifying for more credit not caring about how the more I earn is the more I am taxed.

So even before my salary reaches my hands, the government takes its share.

I then see the money in my account but I would need to make a withdrawal based on how much debit orders are going to need for them to make a successful savage attack on my single source of already taxed earned income I receive ONCE every 4 WEEKS.

Leaving me with about 10%, if not a deficit of 10%, on my account to survive on for the next time a get paid, in a month’s time.

So here I am, living from paycheck to paycheck, while acquiring or “managing” my debt, expenses that at times exceed my income, thinking that the solution to my discomfort is working harder for my money.

Being a slave to money.

The thought of “having money working harder for me,” never entering my mind.

And being a master to money.

All the while making the rich woman richer at the expense (pun intended) of my energy and time.

I exchange my time and energy for money, because growing up that was all I heard.
“Go to school, get a job, and work hard for your money, buy more assets which in fact sit on your liability column because they take money out of your pocket – therefore sitting in someone else’s assets column.”

If I worked hard enough I can get married, buy a house, a car, have kids, buy a bigger house, and a bigger car, go on vacations (thank God for credit cards, I say to myself) and take my kids to private schools because that was the sales pitch I bought into while growing up.

Well I’m grown up now and all that was bull.

I’ve grown up now and worked my ass off on getting into the rat race faster than most people my age at the time, thinking that the rest, the “good life,” will unfold by itself with little or no effort on my part since I’ve done the “hard part.”

Think again.

It hasn’t even started.

Like being trapped in a cycle that makes “rest” & “enjoy” or catch a breather for just 2 days.

The weekend.

I knew something needed to change for change for happen.

Drowning sorrows for 2 days & going back to the 5 day battle I choose to endure come Monday.

That’s when, like a Godsend, I first discovered what Dr. Joe Vitale calls ”the escalator to life.”

The easy way to getting what I wanted in increasing quantities, on a continuous basis.

Which include having millions of sources of incomes that I setup and leave with them generating money for me whether I wake up or not.

And for me to increase this abundant flow of income I would just need to add another income stream to the multiples I already have & there I go.

No alarm clock to wake up to get up early in the morning.

No traffic.

No office rules.

No office politics.

No being broke 2 days into after just getting paid.

The only catch is the tax that I would have to pay, but if I were to do it right I might even get to keep the money that I make, with it getting taxed AFTER I’ve received it.

And that’s how I aim to kill a rat.

By attending seminars, going to workshops that train me on new skills I need to develop so that I can master the effortless ways of being a multi millionaire, all the while using my earned income from my job to create a self sustaining flow of passive income and portfolio income.

My parents spend thousands of rands getting me an education to become broke, poor and middle class

(unintentionally so, because all I was was a broke middle class working for the rich),

so it will only make sense for me to pay thousands of rands to get the education and experience I need to become rich – thousands of rands I would only get back in return through my overwhelmingly successful business & investment ventures.

And I managed to get a mentor while I was at it.

How To Kill A Rat

  1. Speak, and most importantly, to a financial planner
  2. Attract a seminar(s) per year
  3. Attract a mentor(s)
  4. Use earned income to invest in ways to learn and setup passive and portfolio incomes
  5. Read and DO EXACTLY what Think and Grow Rich
  6. Read and DO EXACTLY what Attract Money Now

because most of the time people know the path, but there’s a difference knowing the path and walking it.

Here’s to your freedom.

Have a merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, and an Abundantly Prosperous New Year.

(that’s includes you too sis’ Fikile!)

Yours in grateful expectations.

© Musawenkosi Tshoaele 2009

Leave a Reply

